"Planes are OP" threads are based on nothing but emotion

cashm0n3y08
159 postsMember, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, Battlefield V Member
No matter when you log onto the forums there's always a thread on page 1 asking DICE to nerf planes.

Pilot is the least effective class in the game, by far, and instead of using overly exaggerated hyperbole to prove this I'm going to show you data.

Score Per Minute (SPM) and Kills Per Minute (KPM) are excellent indicators of how effective any player is with any given class, weapon, or vehicle.

Using my stats on BFV Tracker, and comparing KPM and SPM for each class it's clear the weakest class is pilot.

As a pilot, my SPM is 399.50, which puts me in the top 4% of all BFV players. My pilot KPM is 1.07, which puts me in the top 0.4%. Therefore, averaging 1 kill a minute and 400 points per minute makes you quite good as a pilot. A friend I game with who rarely flys averages 156.45 SPM (seems horrible) but it still puts him in the top 22% of all pilots. His pilot KPM is a measly 0.32 yet that puts him in the top 12%!

Let's look at other classes. My most used class is medic, I average 535.20 SPM, way more than I do as a pilot, but it only puts me into the top 8%. I average 1.05 kpm as a medic, about the same as I do in a plane, yet it only puts me into the top 17% of all medics.

Tanks never get the same hate as planes, yet the data shows it's by far the more effective vehicle class. I'm not a great tanker, I average 413 SPM (more than I do in a plane) and it puts me in the bottom 31% of all tankers. My KPM is 0.87, which is an abysmal bottom 43%. Yet if you had those same stats as a pilot, you'd be considered a great pilot.