Addressing Haccusations

BugsLaughter
22 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha Member

Hey everyone. I wanted to take a moment to address the haccusations (an accusation that one is hacking) that seem to be common in not only Battlefield, but other games such as the recent “stream sniping” ban scandal in Battlegrounds.

I’ve been playing PC games since my early teen years, and this was roughly 20 years ago. I started off play the original Team Fortress Quake mod, moving on to Half Life mods such as Counter-Strike and Day of Defeat while they were in beta. I played the original Battlefield 1942 as well as other titles over Battlefields history.

Only recently in the past few years as PC gaming has developed more and more popularity have the haccusations really started increasing. I’m a student of Sociology (literally in college now for it) and have made some observations.

I think it’s the new, younger players coming into the game that accuse the most, and I think this is because by and large our society has encouraged a victim mentality in our youth. But I’m not here to soapbox on that. I digress…

Listen we all have bad games. We all get frustrated with our teams, or with that one guy that’s owning us the entire match. But to scream hacks? Where I come from in my gaming career, when I was a teenager, you Did. Not. Do. That.

Players like Gen-Oddessy are not hackers. They are skilled, practiced, and use squad tactics to achieve a massive amount of success. If you suspect someone of hacking, report them – it’s important to do that! But keep your mouth shut, because many times it’s not that someone is hacking, it’s just that they’re good. I got accused of hacking server side files the other day for goodness sakes. And I’m a mediocre player and my K/D was 22-20. Enough is enough.