Weekly BF

Australian servers are all down/constantly crashing today?

Comments

  • warisusmani
    1 postsMember, Battlefield, Battlefield 1 Member
    I can only see problems here theres no one to tell a solution . Cant even play the game it feels useless
  • sneerfulmite22
    52 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    edited April 2018
    SStoj wrote: »
    s0rtius wrote: »
    s0rtius wrote: »
    How is it disruptive to demand a refund for something when it's not working?
    You can review the EA Refund policy here: https://help.ea.com/en-us/help/account/returns-and-cancellations/


    -Braddock512-

    I have gone to the relevant section for Australian Consumers, who have separate refund conditions to the rest of the world, thanks to our Consumer Protection laws.

    "What are my statutory rights under the consumer guarantee provisions of the Australian Consumer Law?
    Under the Australian Consumer Law, you are entitled to a replacement or refund for a major problem, and compensation for any other reasonably foreseeable loss or damage."

    I'd say this constitutes a "major problem", so under Australian Consumer Law you are entitled to a refund. If EA support refuses your refund request, forward a complaint to the ACCC. It'd be pretty great to see them fine EA just like they fined Valve.

    Response from EA billing team

    "As discussed on chat, the third party team are still working on the issue. I am sorry a refund is not available for any time lost during this time but we promise to add the days back when it has been resolved.

    If you wish to cancel your server subscription, this is also is non-refundable"
    Post edited by sneerfulmite22 on
  • PvtJohnTowle
    941 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    edited April 2018
    if you paid by cc for your server then contact your bank as they are breaching Australian Consumer Laws by saying it is non refundable which conflicts with their written policy specific for AU region which I post a link earlier in this thread
    Electronic Arts Australia Support Hotline:
    1800 894 823 >:) >:) >:) >:) >:) >:) >:) >:) >:)

    Operating hours from 9am - 6pm AEST Monday to Saturday.
    Closed on National Australian Public Holidays.
    Calls charges from mobile and public phones are higher.
    3. The recommendation by StarscreamUK was simply to inform you that it's not wise to 'rally the troops' to spam EA Help. This issue is beyond their ability to resolve (or it would be resolved already. Our devs, QA teams, and partners are working to address the problems and resolve the connectivity issues faced by our APAC community. Unfortunately, we don't have an update to share at this time as it is ongoing. When we do have an update , an ETA on a fix, something more, we will share it.) So, hitting up EA Help advisors to demand compensation (which they are not authorized to provide), ask for a refund (which is only available per the conditions stated in the link above), or just yell at someone doesn't solve anything.


    -Braddock512-


    We are entitled to call this number to seek a refund this is our right as Australian consumers, it's gone past the point of no-return Braddock512, people are fed up and want their money back. Regardless of many times you repeat you are working on the problem and there is no update available, now you are admitting this "help line is not authorized to provide a refund" is actually breaching your undertakings to the ACCC on 28/4/2015-- link provided below from ACCC website.


    Under the terms of the undertaking, EA has agreed to implement a consumer redress program. Any consumer who purchased a faulty video game through Origin after 1 January 2012 and wishes to seek redress should contact EA to have their claim assessed or, where they have already been denied a refund or remedy by EA, have their claim reassessed in accordance with their statutory consumer rights under the ACL.

    EA will set up a 1800 complaints number, an email address and a post office box to handle customer complaints and enquiries. This is where Australian's should contact for a refund in the first instance. (Number is above but there is no email address or PO Box number provided which is also a breach of their ACCC undertakings.


    You can review the EA Refund policy here: https://help.ea.com/en-us/help/account/returns-and-cancellations/

    -Braddock512-

    That is incorrect Braddock512, Australian EA customers have their own region specific refund policy as per undertaking with our ACCC consumer Watchdog (more below) I am surprised you weren't aware of this as EA has made certain undertakings that you would amend their terms and conditions to comply with the Australian Consumer Law; and
    implement and maintain an Australian Consumer Law Compliance Program, implement and maintain an Australian Consumer Law Compliance Program, with particular measures for risk assessment, complaints handling and staff training.
    Maybe you missed out on that staff training that EA promised to provide??

    This is the correct link Braddock512 should be supplying in order to comply with EA's undertakings to ACCC our consumer watchdog.


    https://help.ea.com/en-us/help/account/origin-au-returns-and-cancellations/

    EA have a registered office in Australia by ASIC and therefore must comply with our Australian Laws. details below

    Name: ELECTRONIC ARTS PROPRIETARY LIMITED
    ACN: 003 367 824
    ABN: 20 003 367 824 (External Link)
    Previous state number: 40301542
    Previous state of registration: New South Wales
    Registration date: 7/09/1987
    Next review date: 7/09/2018
    Former name(s): ENTERTAINMENT AND COMPUTER PRODUCTS PTY LTD, IDAMENEO (NO 212) PTY LTD

    Status: Registered
    Type: Australian Proprietary Company, Limited By Shares
    Locality of registered office: SYDNEY NSW 2000
    Regulator: Australian Securities & Investments Commission


    https://www.accc.gov.au/media-release/electronic-arts-undertakes-to-provide-refunds-to-consumers


    The world’s third largest publisher and developer of video games, Electronic Arts Inc and related companies, EA Swiss Sàrl and Electronic Arts Proprietary Limited (together, EA), who run the Origin video game distribution service have provided a court enforceable undertaking to the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission. In the undertaking, EA acknowledged that representations it made to consumers about their rights to refunds and the application of the Australian Consumer Law (ACL) consumer guarantees were likely to have breached the ACL.
    EA will also:

    amend their terms and conditions to comply with the Australian Consumer Law; and
    implement and maintain an Australian Consumer Law Compliance Program, with particular measures for risk assessment, complaints handling and staff training.
    The undertaking is available in full on the ACCC’s public register.

    Additionally, EA has undertaken for a period of three years that it will not make any representation to an Australian consumer that:

    EA has a ‘no refunds’ policy for games purchased through Origin that excludes any right to a refund under the Australian Consumer Law; and/or
    Australian consumers are not entitled, under any circumstances, to a refund for games purchased from Origin.



    EA is clearly breaching this legal undertaking with the ACCC and I encourage those affected to lodge a complaint with the ACCC

    https://www.accc.gov.au/contact-us/contact-the-accc/report-a-consumer-issue
    Post edited by PvtJohnTowle on
  • FecklessGamer
    10 postsMember, Battlefield, Battlefield 1 Member
    I don't have anything to share yet.
    It's been over a week and there's been LITERALLY no information about the cause or an ETR.

    Assuming this gets fixed will there be any info as to the cause?
  • PvtJohnTowle
    941 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    edited April 2018

    I have gone to the relevant section for Australian Consumers, who have separate refund conditions to the rest of the world, thanks to our Consumer Protection laws.

    "What are my statutory rights under the consumer guarantee provisions of the Australian Consumer Law?
    Under the Australian Consumer Law, you are entitled to a replacement or refund for a major problem, and compensation for any other reasonably foreseeable loss or damage."

    I'd say this constitutes a "major problem", so under Australian Consumer Law you are entitled to a refund. If EA support refuses your refund request, forward a complaint to the ACCC. It'd be pretty great to see them fine EA just like they fined Valve.

    Response from EA billing team
    "As discussed on chat, the third party team are still working on the issue. I am sorry a refund is not available for any time lost during this time but we promise to add the days back when it has been resolved.

    If you wish to cancel your server subscription, this is also is non-refundable"


    I would suggest you contact the ACCC and provide a copy of that advice as it is clearly in breach of EA's undertaking of 28/4/2015

  • GoatseBuster
    15 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    edited April 2018
    s0rtius wrote: »
    I literally work at DICE LA and interact with the Dev team constantly.


    Then how hard is it to pick up the phone, shoot off an email or even walk over to ones desk and simply ask what is the problem?

    As long as you are giving people frequent updates you wouldn't have this uproar and people starting to want refunds.Even if you came out and said the issue is X, we are working on a fix but no ETA yet people wouldn't be lashing out. Instead you give everyone here the general garbage post that stinks of "we have no clue what the problem is and we're only starting to work on it now" after what 8 days now? You're saying you are trying to be transparent as possible but on the other hand you give absolutely no further information on the problem. Surely someone working on the issue has a clue as to what's going on so why can't we get a simple update on what the issue actually is! I don't think we're all asking too much.
  • PvtJohnTowle
    941 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
  • SS142
    66 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    Blast, now NA west coast servers are crashing.
  • Cpl_McCrumpet
    90 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member

    The last week and a bit the servers would crash after a round started and we'd get about 30ish odd players...today they are crashing before a round even starts when we have around 9/10 aside....
  • Shaun_Belligero
    39 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    I may be wrong but appears NA and Asia servers are now crashing..which is a good thing maybe EA will actually do there job..

    Where's FSociety when you need them...Evil Corp...Sorry EA needs some attention.
  • Cpl_McCrumpet
    90 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    More like the Asian and US servers are fixed in no time
    .......while we are left in the dark pulling our pud
  • SStoj
    3 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha Member
    SStoj wrote: »
    s0rtius wrote: »
    s0rtius wrote: »
    How is it disruptive to demand a refund for something when it's not working?
    You can review the EA Refund policy here: https://help.ea.com/en-us/help/account/returns-and-cancellations/


    -Braddock512-

    I have gone to the relevant section for Australian Consumers, who have separate refund conditions to the rest of the world, thanks to our Consumer Protection laws.

    "What are my statutory rights under the consumer guarantee provisions of the Australian Consumer Law?
    Under the Australian Consumer Law, you are entitled to a replacement or refund for a major problem, and compensation for any other reasonably foreseeable loss or damage."

    I'd say this constitutes a "major problem", so under Australian Consumer Law you are entitled to a refund. If EA support refuses your refund request, forward a complaint to the ACCC. It'd be pretty great to see them fine EA just like they fined Valve.

    Response from EA billing team

    "As discussed on chat, the third party team are still working on the issue. I am sorry a refund is not available for any time lost during this time but we promise to add the days back when it has been resolved.

    If you wish to cancel your server subscription, this is also is non-refundable"

    I'd love to know exactly what "adding the days back" means. I'm assuming they're talking about Origin Access days? Which does nothing for the majority of players I know. If you bought the game outright like most people, then "adding the days back" is meaningless. As others have said, file a complaint with the ACCC.
  • FecklessGamer
    10 postsMember, Battlefield, Battlefield 1 Member
    Perhaps contacting games sites might get the ball rolling a bit faster?
  • emu1981
    115 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    SStoj wrote: »
    SStoj wrote: »
    s0rtius wrote: »
    s0rtius wrote: »
    How is it disruptive to demand a refund for something when it's not working?
    You can review the EA Refund policy here: https://help.ea.com/en-us/help/account/returns-and-cancellations/


    -Braddock512-

    I have gone to the relevant section for Australian Consumers, who have separate refund conditions to the rest of the world, thanks to our Consumer Protection laws.

    "What are my statutory rights under the consumer guarantee provisions of the Australian Consumer Law?
    Under the Australian Consumer Law, you are entitled to a replacement or refund for a major problem, and compensation for any other reasonably foreseeable loss or damage."

    I'd say this constitutes a "major problem", so under Australian Consumer Law you are entitled to a refund. If EA support refuses your refund request, forward a complaint to the ACCC. It'd be pretty great to see them fine EA just like they fined Valve.

    Response from EA billing team

    "As discussed on chat, the third party team are still working on the issue. I am sorry a refund is not available for any time lost during this time but we promise to add the days back when it has been resolved.

    If you wish to cancel your server subscription, this is also is non-refundable"

    I'd love to know exactly what "adding the days back" means. I'm assuming they're talking about Origin Access days? Which does nothing for the majority of players I know. If you bought the game outright like most people, then "adding the days back" is meaningless. As others have said, file a complaint with the ACCC.

    I am pretty sure that the response is to those who are renting servers via the Rent-a-server program rather then actual players of the game.
  • GoatseBuster
    15 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    edited April 2018
    I literally work at DICE LA and interact with the Dev team constantly.

    Then how hard is it to pick up the phone, open a chat, walk over to someones desk, shoot off an email and simply ask what is the problem?

    You do realise all people want is some form of information. Even a simple "we have identified the issue" would be enough to keep people satisfied for a few days at least.

    Instead all you are doing by giving out these vague statements is adding fuel to the fire. The standard "we are aware of an issue and are working on it" garbage statement isn't enough after 8 days of this game breaking problem. We all know there's an issue ffs, we've been experiencing it for over a week now!!!

    We've paid for a product/service and we want to use it!

    It's time someone actually came forward with some substance rather than vague borderline idiotic statements pointing out the obvious.
  • PvtJohnTowle
    941 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    edited April 2018
    I have just contacted the Aussie EA support number and selected the "warranty" option and spoke to UMAR based in INDIA, who has agreed to refund total price paid in AUD $163.98 that I paid for this game and premium pass. You may or may not see me playing this game in future. It will take up to 10 calendar days for refund to be processed to my PayPal account. I recorded full conversation , also have email confirmation and Case Number. I mentioned ACCC Undertakings in my discussion with UMAR and that the game has a MAJOR FAULT. i.e cannot sustain a connection to their EA servers and that the game is UNPLAYABLE. In the meantime I will be back playing BF4 see you on the battlefield, just not BF1 anymore

    Thank you for contacting EA help, this is Umar. I came across your refund request
    that will be refunded to your paypal account fort the two transactions
    DESCRIPTION QTY CURRENCY AMOUNT
    Battlefield 1 Premium and Deluxe Upgrade Bundle - PC - WW (Origin)
    (FULFILLED) Amount : 53.99 AUD
    Battlefield 1 Deluxe Edition Pre-order - PC - RoW (Origin/3PDD) (FULFILLED)
    Product: Battlefield 1 Deluxe Edition Pre-order - PC - RoW (Origin/3PDD)
    AUD 109.99
    Both the transactions will be refunded as per ACCC policy, the case is being sent
    to the specialist for manual refund.
  • SuperSaiyan0108
    5 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    edited April 2018
    I had the following conversation with EA Support.

    PJSwB0K.jpg

    "I can see that the servers of your game is up and there is no fault however the link you have shared is not be accessed by us"
    • I understand that its not this persons fault at all, but this issue has even been made aware to EA support staff.. Where are the reports of this issue going?

    "as of now giving you a false information is not my cup of tea and EA never give false information"

    Its a shame that the issue has now rolled over to a week.

    Seems like a Refund in accordance with ACCC is the way to go now.
    I have just contacted the Aussie EA support number and selected the "warranty" option and spoke to UMAR based in INDIA, who has agreed to refund total price paid in AUD $163.98 that I paid for this game and premium pass.
    You can review the EA Refund policy here: https://help.ea.com/en-us/help/account/returns-and-cancellations/

    As soon as I have some update to share, we will share it. Apologies for the frustration, I know it's annoying.

    -Braddock512-

    Sadly losing player base due to this frustration. As well as seeing that EA Refund policy appear worthless when under the ACCC.
  • GoatseBuster
    15 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    I can imagine how fast an internal email/ticket went out advising the customer service team not to process refunds due to the server issue.
  • PvtJohnTowle
    941 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    edited April 2018
    I can imagine how fast an internal email/ticket went out advising the customer service team not to process refunds due to the server issue.
    I didn't have any problem your choice-YMMV but if you stick to what I said then you shouldn't have a problem. Umar said he is aware of the ACCC undertakings.
  • TheMunt
    29 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    With respect john i understand your grievance, im also just one of us all in the bf1 playing community on this lil 'ol island that can't have the fun we have… but 75d 3h 35m playing time and you getting a full refund, well that just doesn't make sense to me, your prerogative of course.

    You've enjoyed a tremendous amount of time playing (of course its up's n down's along the way) but im sure you've had a good experience on the whole, otherwise you wouldn't invested as much time in the game.

    I'd understand it, if you bought it on offer in the past month
This discussion has been closed.