Will BF1 still be playable, or will everyone jump ship to BFV?

steambc
2 postsMember, Battlefield, Battlefield 1 Member
I'm brand new to BF1, just d/l'd it a few days ago for $4.99. I'm probably an old-timer to most of you, at 61 years of age. Having a blast with it, although it will take me a bit of time to get up to speed.

I'm wondering what the future holds for it as apparently the release of BFV is days away. Historically, does virtually everybody jump ship to the newest version, leaving the most recent one to languish, or is there a percentage of guys who stick with the previous version (in this case BF1 of course)? BFV doesn't look appealing to me at all, for most of the reasons that have been discussed ad nauseum, so I'd like to stick with BF1 for the next year or so.

Thanks to anyone who responds.

Comments

• A_al_K_pacino_A
    463 postsMember, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, Battlefield V Member
    I think you'll have no trouble getting your moneys worth from the game. The player numbers will go down but there will still be plenty playing.
  • m1k3ol
    811 postsMember, Moderator, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Moderator
    Historically, community gets a dip...but since tons and tons of players just recently joined this days, it's less likely it will happen...or at least it will take longer to get noticed at all...

Gun mechanics are totally different between both titles, so there's already a group of players that won't leave this game (besides of it being an amazing game, of course)

Also, some BFV players will still have BF1 installed, so it's likely they return from time to time to play as well (some of us still play BF3, which is 7 years old)

The Battlefield family is long standing...
  • BosundaveE6
    21 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    steambc wrote: »