The Company Coin Problem: A friendly rant from a developer...

lAlucard
29 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
edited January 2019
I know DICE has released a "fix" to company coin. But the reality is it somehow isn't still fixed for some players like myself.
As a web developer, I'm myself, I'm more concerned about solving problems than complaining about them. So I figured I'd post a few tutorials i googled so DICE can go and fix their broken game after 3 months.... This is also intended so non-developers can understand just how easy this actually should be to fix. The netcode issues, bipod, ect were far more difficult from a technical standpoint to fix. This issue is solvable in an afternoon by an intern. Trust me, I've literally taught at a coding bootcamp...

Keep in mind they also need to up the daily from a 100 to 500 each so people because the idea of having people spend 7 days to progress a single weapon is ridiculous from any UX developer standpoint. It's beyond what UX developers call "dark patterns", its an anti-pattern...

Anyway, here you go dice.

Post edited by lAlucard on

Comments

• Foamcow
    177 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    edited January 2019
    Speaking as a fellow web developer, you should also be aware that you aren't in possession of all the facts. You don't know how the backend is set up, what infrastructure is in place, what the background "politics" might be, what stakeholders want, what the workload and resources are like. etc. etc.

It's simple to fix the problem in theory but without being on the inside and knowing the application/business logic inside out it's a moot suggestion. When something is already up and running with tens of thousands (or more) of active users it's not necessarily simple to "just fix it".