Just went back to BF1

Comments

• BFB-LeCharybdis
    784 postsMember, Battlefield, Battlefield 1 Member
    I wonder if for Battlefield to succeed as a franchise separate games need to be released for the console and PC platforms. 

Battlefield 1 was the biggest hit in the series by quite a distance, I believe it sold 25 million. It's main detraction is that it saw a greater player drop off on PC, but I started playing BF1 well after the final DLC had dropped and the servers where packed on PS4 EU and NA and I read that BF1 retained a dedicated following on X-Box. 

Perhaps the more 'casual' approach is needed for console where I believe the most money is to be made. Whilst PC receive a smaller game more true to Battlefields past.
    There definitely needs to be different balancing for console and PC, but you seem to be conflating 'console' with 'casual'.  I'm a PC player and always have been (for FPS. I do own a console) and I love BF1.

What do you mean by more "true to Battlefields past"?  For me, BF means multi-discipline (vehicles and infantry), squad/team/coop/objectives-based warfare.  BF1 does that wonderfully.  Vehicles are powerful and fun, but totally counterable in multiple ways.  Infantry are powerful and fun, but well balanced too.  Coop play is always rewarded, but you can go your own way too, if you're good.

To me BF1 was almost perfectly appealing to both 'casual' and more dedicated players, console or PC.
    Absolutely agree BF1 is a superb game. I'm using the term 'Casual' as it seems to be the main term for describing BF1. To be clear, I see no insult in that.

I'm not speaking in absolutes, of course there will be PC players who prefer BF1 just as there must be Console players that prefer BFV.