Heat distortion on Al Sundan

Daytonaflyer
93 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, Battlefield V Member
edited November 25
What's up with the horrible heat wave distortion while flying airplanes on Al Sundan? They're everywhere. I'm an airline pilot, captain on an Airbus A320. I've been flying airplanes for 22 years and not once have I been able to see heat distortion waves while flying. This seems like a huge error by DICE. In real life you can only see heat distortion from very low altitudes when it's very hot outside, where the ground is the warmest.
In Battlefield V it seems they have it completely backward because you can't see the heat distortion very well while on the ground, but in flight they're everywhere. It really ruins the map.

Comments

• snavelaer
    1140 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    It is simply there to nerf planes. 
  • CSO7777
    1374 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    edited November 25
    snavelaer said:
    Or because of 'cinematic effects', just like 'lens flare' and the other 'camera-imperfection'-options. They like to showcase what the Frostbite engine can do visually (they probably spent too much time doing it).

The game has unfortunately prioritized visuals over game-play. Dice has always had this problem (blue-tint in BF3...).
  • jroggs
    703 postsMember, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, Battlefield V Member
    CSO7777 said:
    snavelaer said:
    Or because of 'cinematic effects', just like 'lens flare' and the other 'camera-imperfection'-options. They like to showcase what the Frostbite engine can do visually (they probably spent too much time doing it).

The game has unfortunately prioritized visuals over game-play. Dice has always had this problem (blue-tint in BF3...).