Thoughts from an old gamer

lustvig
postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
edited June 22
So, here's the thing. I've been playing Battlefield since Battlefield 1942. I just now joined BF5. Why? Well, life got in the way and the idiotic controversy made it sound like a toxic swamp.  [Removed] it's just a game. But my thoughts are on gameplay, not skins/genders of  a bunch of pixels on characters in a children's video game.

I have NEVER been good. My KDR is usually inverse, and I absolutely suck in CQB (close quarters battle). But I love the series, dear God I do.

My fav time came when I started playing the Forgotten Hope mod for Battlefield 2. It was a WWII realism shooter - one shot, one kill, most infantry had rifles, tanks had properly sloped armor, etc. Not quite as extreme as say, Arma, but pretty tough. What made it a joy was my time with a clan. First time I ever joined a group. The 130th Panzer Lehr. It was tight - we had out-of-game ranks, determined by our ability to play the game, follow orders over teamspeak, and in general contribute. Yeah, there was some questionable use of the insignia. I hate Illinois ¯\_(ツ)_/¯, but ... what the hey. It was a fun group. I miss the hell out of those guys.

So to me, team play is cool.

Since my skills in infantry suck, I was assigned to the Panzer Pioneers which usually had Engineer kits. Mines, AT panzerfausts, the works. I alternated between placed artillery and tank hunting. My job was not to cap flags (unless ordered of course). Man I love hunting tanks. I think BF5 did a fine job with the AT mines. Had my first mine kill a few days ago by placing the sucked right on the Sherman's engine deck.