Servers!

«1
liamsutton10
1 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1 Member
Right I'm in a milsim community and our leader has just paid for a private server only to find anyone can join I'm not ranting was just wondering if anyone's got any news on servers is all

Comments

  • Rombibombii
    574 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    Best thing is to read up on the stickied threads and the "Constructive" respone thread. There's a lot missing and a lot required. Especially if you are looking for a milsim feeling you might want to hold off.

    As it seems right now the next patch for RSP is in march alongside the "They shall not pass" DLC.
  • WarCriminal_954
    636 postsMember, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    • you can't set it to QM to fill up your server yet. most stay empty as there is a 20 player start and are not easy for the casual user to find and join
    • you can't kick/ban
    • you can't create any custom settings
    • you can't add more than 6 maps to rotation (game has 10 maps currently)
    • you can't turn off "autobalance"
    • you can't manage players (switch them to other side)
    • you can't have a VIP list of even add admins (so if your friends helped pay for the server they have to wait for randoms to leave before they can join)

    basically those who have already paid for a server funded it's development and eventually will be paying a decent percentage of dices' server operational costs.

    good luck with a refund. last go around a rep told us "no refunds were necessary as the servers are working as intended". so my mate, who disagreed, decided to do a chargeback (bad idea btw). this resulted in a perma-ban on his psn account that he is still working on getting removed. bottom line is, they took the money, servers don't work, they are semi-reluctant to issue refunds.

    the clown that runs the program has been tweeting "coming soon" since November.

  • InSaNeOldGuy
    79 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1 Member
    Some kind of update coming in Feb.. https://www.battlefield.com/en-gb/news/article/the-road-ahead-jan-2017

    No details but who knows.. Our group just wants Private Servers with starts of 4 or less.
  • NetRngr
    567 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, Battlefield V Member
    • you can't set it to QM to fill up your server yet. most stay empty as there is a 20 player start and are not easy for the casual user to find and join
    • you can't kick/ban
    • you can't create any custom settings
    • you can't add more than 6 maps to rotation (game has 10 maps currently)
    • you can't turn off "autobalance"
    • you can't manage players (switch them to other side)
    • you can't have a VIP list of even add admins (so if your friends helped pay for the server they have to wait for randoms to leave before they can join)

    basically those who have already paid for a server funded it's development and eventually will be paying a decent percentage of dices' server operational costs.

    good luck with a refund. last go around a rep told us "no refunds were necessary as the servers are working as intended". so my mate, who disagreed, decided to do a chargeback (bad idea btw). this resulted in a perma-ban on his psn account that he is still working on getting removed. bottom line is, they took the money, servers don't work, they are semi-reluctant to issue refunds.

    the clown that runs the program has been tweeting "coming soon" since November.

    As far as i know you can add all the maps now. I may be wrong but think that has been addressed at least.
  • WarCriminal_954
    636 postsMember, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    NetRngr wrote: »
    • you can't set it to QM to fill up your server yet. most stay empty as there is a 20 player start and are not easy for the casual user to find and join
    • you can't kick/ban
    • you can't create any custom settings
    • you can't add more than 6 maps to rotation (game has 10 maps currently)
    • you can't turn off "autobalance"
    • you can't manage players (switch them to other side)
    • you can't have a VIP list of even add admins (so if your friends helped pay for the server they have to wait for randoms to leave before they can join)

    basically those who have already paid for a server funded it's development and eventually will be paying a decent percentage of dices' server operational costs.

    good luck with a refund. last go around a rep told us "no refunds were necessary as the servers are working as intended". so my mate, who disagreed, decided to do a chargeback (bad idea btw). this resulted in a perma-ban on his psn account that he is still working on getting removed. bottom line is, they took the money, servers don't work, they are semi-reluctant to issue refunds.

    the clown that runs the program has been tweeting "coming soon" since November.

    As far as i know you can add all the maps now. I may be wrong but think that has been addressed at least.

    possible. not sure myself as the admin of ours is perma-banned lol

    thanks

  • StarscreamUK
    7338 postsMember, Moderator, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Moderator
    servers don't work

    This I disagree on. The servers DO work, just not how you expected it to.

  • WarCriminal_954
    636 postsMember, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    servers don't work

    This I disagree on. The servers DO work, just not how you expected it to.

    ok, right if you prefer to be technical. sure they work. as "I" expected? I'm hardly the only one who is disappointed here mate. are they delivering what we received in the past? may I ask you the benefits of renting one currently?

  • StarscreamUK
    7338 postsMember, Moderator, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Moderator
    if you want to be pedantic about it, ok, so they don't work how most of us expected.

    as I've stated before, I don't like how it is, but it is how it is.
  • WarCriminal_954
    636 postsMember, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    if you want to be pedantic about it, ok, so they don't work how most of us expected.

    as I've stated before, I don't like how it is, but it is how it is.

    alright I may be possibly.

    i know i've seen you say that in the past. listen, I'm just a bit angry but I know we are all on the same page. as a huge fan of the game, i am passionate about it's success and to ensure my clanmates & I have a great game like this to play for the long-term horizon. so, i worry when critical items as such are not delivered upon and met with customer resentment. as hard as it is for me to do, i'll be a gent and leave this subject alone for now.

  • NetRngr
    567 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, Battlefield V Member
    NetRngr wrote: »
    • you can't set it to QM to fill up your server yet. most stay empty as there is a 20 player start and are not easy for the casual user to find and join
    • you can't kick/ban
    • you can't create any custom settings
    • you can't add more than 6 maps to rotation (game has 10 maps currently)
    • you can't turn off "autobalance"
    • you can't manage players (switch them to other side)
    • you can't have a VIP list of even add admins (so if your friends helped pay for the server they have to wait for randoms to leave before they can join)

    basically those who have already paid for a server funded it's development and eventually will be paying a decent percentage of dices' server operational costs.

    good luck with a refund. last go around a rep told us "no refunds were necessary as the servers are working as intended". so my mate, who disagreed, decided to do a chargeback (bad idea btw). this resulted in a perma-ban on his psn account that he is still working on getting removed. bottom line is, they took the money, servers don't work, they are semi-reluctant to issue refunds.

    the clown that runs the program has been tweeting "coming soon" since November.

    As far as i know you can add all the maps now. I may be wrong but think that has been addressed at least.

    possible. not sure myself as the admin of ours is perma-banned lol

    thanks

    How the flying hell did your Admin get permabanned? That's just.. wow man no words.
  • kL-SnAjP
    497 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha Member
    FF is banning not only cheaters lately, he could be one of them
  • WarCriminal_954
    636 postsMember, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    kL-SnAjP wrote: »
    FF is banning not only cheaters lately, he could be one of them

    great assumption
    NetRngr wrote: »
    NetRngr wrote: »
    • you can't set it to QM to fill up your server yet. most stay empty as there is a 20 player start and are not easy for the casual user to find and join
    • you can't kick/ban
    • you can't create any custom settings
    • you can't add more than 6 maps to rotation (game has 10 maps currently)
    • you can't turn off "autobalance"
    • you can't manage players (switch them to other side)
    • you can't have a VIP list of even add admins (so if your friends helped pay for the server they have to wait for randoms to leave before they can join)

    basically those who have already paid for a server funded it's development and eventually will be paying a decent percentage of dices' server operational costs.

    good luck with a refund. last go around a rep told us "no refunds were necessary as the servers are working as intended". so my mate, who disagreed, decided to do a chargeback (bad idea btw). this resulted in a perma-ban on his psn account that he is still working on getting removed. bottom line is, they took the money, servers don't work, they are semi-reluctant to issue refunds.

    the clown that runs the program has been tweeting "coming soon" since November.

    As far as i know you can add all the maps now. I may be wrong but think that has been addressed at least.

    possible. not sure myself as the admin of ours is perma-banned lol

    thanks

    How the flying hell did your Admin get permabanned? That's just.. wow man no words.

    he requested a refund. EA told him they would not issue the refund because the "servers were working as intended". he disagreed and angrily did a chargeback (was not a good move). he was permabanned as a result. just to update from the last time, he paid them back in full less than 24 hours after the ban and he has been working for the last month literally to get the ban lifted. so needless to say, our clan has a server paid for a full 6 months, but none of us can use it because this gent was our admin lol.
  • StarscreamUK
    7338 postsMember, Moderator, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Moderator
    Get the facts right.

    SONY refused his refund request, not EA.
    SONY banned his account, not EA.


  • WarCriminal_954
    636 postsMember, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    Get the facts right.

    SONY refused his refund request, not EA.
    SONY banned his account, not EA.



    NO. he contacted EA for the refund. insert your opinion as fact when you know what your taking about, good sir.

  • StarscreamUK
    7338 postsMember, Moderator, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Moderator
    remember this?
    when he requested the refund for the server, they (sony) banned his psn account and blocked his access to all digital content as well. this was the response he received asking why he was blocked and why he had to pay for the server in order to be restored.
  • StarscreamUK
    7338 postsMember, Moderator, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Moderator
    one of my clanmates requested a refund a few weeks back. his account was shut down & not allowed to use his digital games (he paid for them in full) as a result. he has been fighting to restore his psn account ever since. here's the bit he received:

    Hi Tom,

    Thanks for your refund request for your purchase of Battlefield server.

    Regrettably, we are unable to offer a refund for purchases made on PlayStation Store unless the content is found to be defective.
    During the process of making your purchase and reaching the checkout, we explain that completion of the purchase is a request for immediate delivery of the digital content and that, accordingly, as permitted by law, no "cooling off" period / cancellation right applies.

    Also, our records show that the content has already been downloaded to your device.

    This content is now available to use on the console and cannot be removed, even if we were to refund the purchase. As the content cannot be ‘returned’ to us, we cannot consider a refund in this case.

    You can read our full refund and cancllation policy here; https://www.playstation.com/en-gb/get-help/help-library/store---transactions/payments---refunds/playstation-store-cancellation-policy/

    You have since claimed that the purchase was fraudulent to PayPal and because of this there is now a debt on your account witch will need to be paid before we release your account back to you.

    Please contact PlayStation Support directly using the reference number and contact details below.

    Regards,

    Ian
    Player Support Specialist


    so here's our experience. we have ran servers for years and spent thousands of dollars/pounds/euros. we request a refund when we realize the lack of features and ability to get players into the server and request a refund. our mate is punished a result.

    losing patience.

    Thats sony, that is NOT EA.
  • WarCriminal_954
    636 postsMember, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    one of my clanmates requested a refund a few weeks back. his account was shut down & not allowed to use his digital games (he paid for them in full) as a result. he has been fighting to restore his psn account ever since. here's the bit he received:

    Hi Tom,

    Thanks for your refund request for your purchase of Battlefield server.

    Regrettably, we are unable to offer a refund for purchases made on PlayStation Store unless the content is found to be defective.
    During the process of making your purchase and reaching the checkout, we explain that completion of the purchase is a request for immediate delivery of the digital content and that, accordingly, as permitted by law, no "cooling off" period / cancellation right applies.

    Also, our records show that the content has already been downloaded to your device.

    This content is now available to use on the console and cannot be removed, even if we were to refund the purchase. As the content cannot be ‘returned’ to us, we cannot consider a refund in this case.

    You can read our full refund and cancllation policy here; https://www.playstation.com/en-gb/get-help/help-library/store---transactions/payments---refunds/playstation-store-cancellation-policy/

    You have since claimed that the purchase was fraudulent to PayPal and because of this there is now a debt on your account witch will need to be paid before we release your account back to you.

    Please contact PlayStation Support directly using the reference number and contact details below.

    Regards,

    Ian
    Player Support Specialist


    so here's our experience. we have ran servers for years and spent thousands of dollars/pounds/euros. we request a refund when we realize the lack of features and ability to get players into the server and request a refund. our mate is punished a result.

    losing patience.

    Thats sony, that is NOT EA.

    well even if it was jesus himself, does it make it right? he went to EA first. maybe sony afterwards. so let me restate it: both EA and sony told him it was working as intended and refused to issue the refund.

  • StarscreamUK
    7338 postsMember, Moderator, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Moderator
    The server worked. It just didn't have features you THOUGHT it would. It's been very clear what features were available at launch. Did the server store say you can kick/ban/etc? No, it did't, you just presumed they would be there. Defective would mean it didn't work. It did work, but by your own admission you struggled to get it populated. If the servers didn't work, nobody would be playing.

    However this isn't on topic with the OP, so let's leave it here. The simple fact is, EA did NOTHING to your friend, he caused it by doing a chargeback.
  • kL-SnAjP
    497 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, BF1IncursionsAlpha Member
    edited January 2017
    comparing this to the car still works
    buy a car, hey its missing an engine BUT it can still ride downhill. Would you buy the car if u knew its missing an engine? OFCOURSE not, but hey its a CAR why would it miss an engine??
    @StarscreamUK you are defending something that cant be defended
Sign In or Register to comment.