Is it just me, or BF1 is so much more enjoyable and have better gameplay than BF5?

Comments

• disposalist
    8260 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, BF1IncursionsAlpha, Battlefield V Member
    edited November 2018
    Although it’s tempting to tell BF1 fans like disposalist to get lost now the tables are turned, I think it would be better to listen to some of their concerns.

It’s true BF1 was changed after a year to bring it in line with older BF titles. It was only after that I started playing it.

Maybe it’s only fair to tweak BFV, or add a normal mode or something, so more BF1 people can enjoy it?

These are fellow Battlefield fans after all. Seems a bit extreme to shut them out.
    Really very good of you to be so reasonable. I've posted a couple of times about my realisation that DICE really needs to make 2 titles and keep 2 titles going at once.

There certainly seems to be a large and vocal group that want a more 'competitive' game and there is a large group that prefer it more 'casual'. Those terms are rather reductive, but I think they are mostly understood by both sides and largely cover the 'opposing' views of what makes BF fans argue.

I really thought at one point we had it made when DICE started working on Incursions seemingly just for the competitive crowd that weren't happy with BF1. But Incursions seemed to go nowhere and perhaps please no one and then they stuck TTK2 in BF1 to make it more like BF4, even though there still was BF4 for that kind of gunplay and they were developing BF5 which they must have known would have gunplay more like BF4 than BF1.

They know there are two different crowds and they know they want two very different (relatively) games, but they keep trying to cram both kinds into one, to a lesser or greater degree. Never mind the obvious folly of trying to balance for console and PC.