Why doesn't anyone use spotting flares?

Comments

• Kevang039
    108 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    I've used the spotting flare quite a few times on an objective, racked up 2 or 3 thousand points, exposed the enemy position and captured a flag o saw at least 100 deaths occur trying to cap it.

I'll take easy points anytime.
  • Sixclicks
    5073 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    The flare is actually useful now, but it still doesn't suit the recon weapons. It has a short deployment range, so you need to be close to the objective and thus the enemy.

Meanwhile your weapons on recon are inferior at close ranges.
  • Catsonspeeed
    612 postsMember, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
    SirBobdk wrote: »
    As a pilot I'm always amazed when I see 5-7 snipers on my team and only maybe 1 or none are spotting. Its like they are stock in their scope or dont even know flares or spotting scope exists.

They are probably just afraid that someone might steal their kills. And then they are killed themselves, and because they never spotted the enemy, he's now free to finish off this idiots team mates as well.
  • fakemon64
    898 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, CTE, Battlefield V Member
    Even with the buff, the spotting scope can still easily outspot the flares imo.
  • bigiain
    269 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield Hardline, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member