Optimal audio settings for headphones - I have all the answers.

badKD
5 postsMember, Battlefield 3, Battlefield 4, Battlefield, Battlefield 1, Battlefield V Member
edited March 9
**Just to be clear here, I was looking to achieve the most accurate directional audio as goal number one and I didn't want this to affect sound quality as much as possible was goal two. This guide will not give you the "best" sounding audio, but the most accurate directional audio, which I think is important in a FPS game. Also I don't think you will sacrifice any audio fidelity with this setup in my opinion.**

I have been gaming for 127 years and I have to admit I have NEVER been so frustrated with setting up the audio for a particular game. This is just due to the fact that there are way too many setting combinations and trying to test them in this game where a lot of times the sounds are chaotic, made for a very tough time.

I finally found out a way to test all the audio and separate all the sounds so that I can say for sure that I know what all the audio settings do when mixed together.

As you probably know you have settings in the Xbox itself, in your mix amp or headphones, and in the game on top of all that. Also each one of those all have multiple settings to choose from to make things even more fun. Plus you can do things such as hook the headphones through a mixamp or directly into the controller which produces an even different effect!

In the Xbox you have: stereo, surround, Windows Sonic, and Dolby Atmos. In your mixamp or headphones you likely have surround settings on or off, and in the game there are three different settings for headphones: headphone stereo, headphone surround, and headphone 3D. You can even do these such as set the surround to home theater for a wider sound stage, but we won’t get into that as you’ll see why in a minute. As you can see mixing and matching all those settings and trying to figure out what is the best audio setup can be very overwhelming.